Get Wisdom at Any Cost

Sunset

 

Let your eyes look straight ahead;
fix your gaze directly before you.
Give careful thought to the paths for your feet
and be steadfast in all your ways.
Do not turn to the right or the left;
keep your foot from evil.

Direction is so freaking important. If you lose track of where you are heading how easy it becomes to step off the path. If we lose focus of what is important in life it is almost a given that we will start to fill our lives with the unimportant. Here’s the tricky part though, sometimes our GPS’s give us the right directions but not at the right time. I am sure we have all experienced that time when the smooth robotic female voice in our phones have told us to “turn left now” but if we were to do so we would have found us in someones living room. I have found it to be much the same with life. Sometimes we get the right directions, good intentions, but at the wrong time. God I want to start a business so bad, or God I long to do overseas missions, but it ends in failure. Are those bad things? Of course not, but even good things in bad timing can become bad things. How often have we gotten up to deliver a sermon, or perhaps just a school speech, we stutter over our words or get a bad grade because we are not equipped.

All Scripture is inspired by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, for training in righteousness; 17so that the man of God may be adequate, equipped for every good work.

Today has been all about getting back on track and realizing the direction I’m going in. A dear friend encouraged me to read Proverbs 4 tonight and as I turned to it I quickly remembered it as one of my favorite Proverbs. “Get wisdom at any cost” the writer proclaims! He is so straightforward and blunt I love it, I long to be so bold as well. But the verses quickly reminded me what I am doing here in YWAM. I’m living in Central California and therefore not really suffering for Christ right now. But I feel like I have been called to suffer for Christ, but apparently not yet, right now I’m going to get wisdom at any cost. I can tell you right now I am not equipped to suffer for Christ, my fasting game is not up to speed for starters. But I’m learning, and I continue to learn to deny myself daily. Being a part of the community that I am in has been crazy, not quite radical, but it certainly has taught me quite a bit already about what it means to live for others.

I resolve to look at each new man I meet as if I am more vile than they!

Boom! That is huge! That is wise! I wish I was the one who coined the phrase, but I (and you) can be one who lives by that phrase. This is the direction that I have felt God lie before me, it is threefold. To love others more than myself. To continue to be equipped to preach God’s word in whatever facet he so chooses for me. To get wisdom at any cost. That’s my goal for the rest of my DTS, keep me accountable reader! Pray for me, that I would not look to the right or to the left of the path that lies before me but that I would run the race marked out for me.

-sam